Cricket Tournaments

BMR T20: Rules, Registration and Procedure

  • Registration Procedure
  • Rules
  • Tournament Procedure

Registration Procedure:

Every team can have a maximum of 15 players, and must have a minimum of 11 players. Only up to 11 players will be playing during any one game, so 11 is required. Four extra players is recommended, since this is a tournament and one team can be playing as many as three or four times.

Tournament Rules:

1. During the tournament all participants are expected to behave professionally and should avoid abusive language/gestures/ question umpires decisions. The participants must also remember to treat other players with respect as well as have fun.

  • There is a severe penalty for anyone who curses an opponent. That person will be removed from the whole tournament. No EXCUSES. If three players from a single team are removed, the entire team is banned. The team and Captain must make sure this does not happen.
  • Cursing is constituted as abusive, hateful, or malignant language or behavior.

2. The Team Captain is responsible for informing all of the teammates about when the team will be playing and on what dates. Our responsibility is to tell the Captain when his team will be playing.

3. The Captain and teammates must be SELECTED from BMR SPORTS PVT LTD.

4. At no account is BMR SPORTS SPORTS PVT LTD held accountable for any injuries happening during a game.

5. If any player is deemed to be violent, ill-cooperative, or dangerous to anyone around him, he will be removed, and possibly a police report will be filed.

6. Rule Update (13/10/17): In the case of a tie in a match where runs both teams scored are the same, the deciding factor of who wins will be decided by comparing the run rate of each team. If the run rate of both teams are the same, the deciding factor will be a bowl out. Both teams will select 5 bowlers. Each bowler will be given two tries to try to hit the wicket without a batters presence. Victory of the match will proceed to whichever team is able to score the most wickets.

7. Rule Update (13/10/17) During bowling your arm must be completely straight, zero degrees of bending is allowed,  any noticeable bending of the arm will result in being called a 'no ball' and three or most of such deliveries will result in loss of bowling privilege.

8. Rule Update (13/10/17) Minimum eight player and maximum eleven players, a written list must be presented at the time of the coin toss NO SUBSTITUTION ALLOWED

Tournament Procedures

As of now, a total of eight (8) teams can play. Each team must lose two matches in the tournament to be eliminated. Each match shall consist of one game of 20-overs (tentative) for both sides. There will be two brackets of games going on, the Winner's Bracket and the Loser's Bracket. All teams will start playing in the Winner's Bracket. As each team loses, they will be sent off to the Loser's Bracket. The round the team played before losing will be taken in consideration in placement in the Loser's Bracket.

Teams will be paired up against each other in random order in the first round. Each team will compete against another team in a match. The winning team of the match will go on to the second round. The losing team will be sent off to the Loser's Bracket. The same procedure will happen again in the second round and the third round, each time the teams competing to go on to the next round. The third round will have only two teams in a face-off for the Finals.

The teams who will have lost in the first, second, and third round will have a chance to get back in and compete for the Finals. From the first round of the Winner's Bracket, there will be four defeated teams. The teams will be paired up and shall compete for the second round. Two teams will win and will verse two incoming second-round defeated teams. Among them, two teams will win and will face each other for the next round, which is the semi-Finals. The winning team will face the incoming semi-Finals defeated team for their final chance to go off to the Finals.

Whichever team shall have won the semi-Finals shall compete against each other. One team will come from the Winner's Bracket. The other team shall come from the Loser's Bracket. They will play two games. The team from the Loser's Bracket must win both games. The team from the Winner's Bracket only have to win one game. Because this is double-loss elimination, the team on the Loser's Bracket have already lost once. A second loss means that they are eliminated. Therefore, they cannot afford to lose even one game in Finals. On the other hand, team from the Winner's Bracket have not lost once. They can still afford to lose one game, but not both, as that too will mean elimination.